Temple Beth Sholom of Pascack Valley

 

 

 

History
History
Temple Beth Sholom was organized in 1923 when a group of ten men purchased a furniture store on Park Avenue in Park Ridge that had been built in 1904. With a membership of about 60 families, a ground-breaking ceremony was held on April the 24, 1958, for a new edifice which was dedicated as Temple Beth Sholom of Pascack Valley on April 24, 1959. In August of 1980, our newly renovated temple was to be rededicated. This event never occurred due to a fire. Fortunately, our Torah Scrolls were heroically rescued by Rabbi Leon T. Rosenblum.

Original Temple Building. Early 1900's

After the fire, the damage to the temple was repaired and finally we were able to complete our dedication. Temple Beth Sholom survived Hurricane Floyd's wrath in Sept. 1999, but not without the loss of our nursery school program that was housed in our lower level. During 1999, our building's interior went through another period of renewal, and in 2004, we were delighted to celebrate the building's 100th birthday.

Several years ago our building was renovated. We are thrilled to be able to plan for our temple's ever-increasing growth - structurally, spiritually, and programmatically. Our temple today offers religious, social, and civic programs for the Jewish community. We look forward to our temple's future as we continue to provide a vibrant temple for Jewish families in the Pascack Valley.